Restricted Invasive Animals

Restricted invasive animals that are present in the Winton Shire Council region include:

Common Name Scientific Name Category Number
Cat Felis catus and Prionailurus bengalensis x Felis catus 3, 4, 6
Dingo Canis Lupus dingo 3, 4, 5, 6
Dog Canis lupus familiaris – other than a domestic dog 3, 4, 5, 6
European fox Vulpes Vulpes 3, 4, 5, 6
European rabbit Oryctolagus cuniculus 3, 4, 5, 6
Feral goat Capra hircus 3, 4, 6
Feral pig Sus scrofa 3, 4, 6

For a full list of invasive plants see Schedule 2 Part 2 of the Biosecurity Act 2014

Restricted matter is assigned category numbers from 1-7 based on its characteristics and the risks it poses.  More than one category may be assigned if multiple restrictions are appropriate to counter the risks.  A person must comply with the category requirement for the restricted matter unless otherwise authorised by regulation or permit.  The categories are as follows:

Category 1 – Is restricted matter that requires immediate containment or eradication to minimise the risk of spread. It must be reported to an inspector within 24 hours of an individual becoming aware of its presence and must be reported to the State

Category 2 – Is restricted matter that includes a range of plant and fish species that pose a significant biosecurity risk and require management. Category 2 restricted matter must be reported to an authorised officer (State or Local Government) within 24 hours of an individual becoming aware of its presence.

Category 3 – Is restricted matter that includes all invasive animals and plants where deliberate distribution, or disposal is a key source of spread. It must not be given as a gift, sold, traded or released into the environment unless the distribution or disposal is provided for in a regulation or under a permit.

Category 4 – Is restricted matter that includes specific invasive plants and animals that must not be moved to ensure they are not spread into other areas of the State. As with category 3, the intention of this prohibition is to limit its distribution or spread.

Category 5 – Is restricted matter that cannot be possessed or kept under a person’s control. This restricted matter category includes invasive species that have a high pest potential and capacity to impact heavily on the environment.  There are exemptions for seized items, where the restricted matter is being held for identification purposes or under permit.

Category 6 – Is restricted matter that cannot be fed unless held under a restricted matter permit or for the purposes of poison baiting. This includes invasive animals and noxious fish which are not owned by a person. The intention of this prohibition is to discourage population growth.

Category 7 – Is restricted matter that must be killed as soon as practicable and disposed of in a way described under a regulation. This is currently intended for the management of noxious fish.

Invasive animals can:

  • Spread disease,
  • Prey on and displace native animals,
  • Destroy vegetation,
  • Impact primary production, and
  • Threaten humans and domestic animals.

Under the Biosecurity Act 2014, Landowners have an obligation to control invasive animals on their property.

Council’s Rural Services Officers are responsible for controlling invasive animals on Council land, reserves and stock routes. 

Council can assist landowners by providing information on ways to control invasive animals on private land. 

For more information on invasive animals, visit,  or contact the Winton Shire Council – Rural Services on (07) 4657 2666.