

MINUTES

Special Council Meeting Wednesday, 27 March 2024

MINUTES OF WINTON SHIRE COUNCIL SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE WINTON SHIRE COUNCIL BOARD ROOM ON WEDNESDAY, 27 MARCH 2024 AT 8:00AM

- **PRESENT:** Cr Cathy White, Cr Frank Standfast, Cr Tina Elliott, Cr Adrian Lenton, Cr Jacob Mutton, Cr Julie Dorries.
- **IN ATTENDANCE:** Dirk Dowling (Chief Executive Officer), Shannon Van Bael (Executive Manager Community Services), Brenton Hall (Manager Works and Operations) Kirby Reents (Minutes Secretary).

Via Teams : Roger Naidoo (Director of Works).

DECLARATION OF OFFICE (section 169 (2) of the Local Government act 2009) "The Chief Executive Officer is authorised to take the Declaration."

The Chief Executive Officer opened the meeting and led each Councillor through their Declaration of Office.

2 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Mayor recited the Acknowledgement of Country.

3 APOLOGIES

Nil

4 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR (section 175 (2) of the Local Government Act 2009) "The Local Government must, by resolution, appoint a Deputy Mayor from its Councillors (other than the Mayor)."

Nominations:

Cr F Standfast nominated and Cr J Dorries seconded Cr Tina Elliott for Deputy Mayor.

There were no further nominations.

A vote was taken with Cr Tina Elliott being declared elected as Deputy Mayor. 6-0

24.03.25

Moved: Cr F Standfast Seconded: Cr A Lenton

THAT Cr Tina Elliott be appointed as Deputy Mayor.

CARRIED 6-0

5 DECISIONAL REPORTS

5.1 CONFIRMATION OF COUNCIL MEETING DATES 2024

SUMMARY

Council is required to declare the time and place for general meetings of Council at its postelection meeting.

24.03.26

Moved: Cr F Standfast Seconded: Cr T Elliott

1. THAT the report be received.

CARRIED 6-0

24.03.27

Moved: Cr A Lenton Seconded: Cr J Mutton

- 2. THAT Ordinary Meetings of Council for 2024 continue to be held on the third Thursday of each month at the Council Chambers, 75 Vindex Street, Winton commencing at 8.00am with amendments.
 - 19 April 2024
 - 16 May 2024
 - 20 June 2024
 - 18 July 2024
 - 15 August 2024
 - 17 October 2024
 - 21 November 2024
 - 12 December 2024

Noting that the April 2024 Meeting has been adjusted (occur on Friday 19 April 2024) to allow the Mayor to attend the Local Government Association of Queensland (LGAQ) special Mayor Forum on 17 April 2024 at Parliament House Brisbane – with all elected Mayors.

CARRIED 6-0

5.2 APPOINT ADVISORY COMMITTEE REPRESENTIVES

SUMMARY

A key element of the Statutory Meeting is the appointment of Councillors to the existing Council Advisory Committees and the Assessment Panel:

- Rural Lands and Agriculture Advisory Committee
- Tourism and Beautification Advisory Committee
- Community Facilities Users Advisory Committee
- Work Camp Correctional Facility Advisory Committee
- Audit, Risk, and Improvement Committee
- Regional Arts Development Fund Assessment Panel

24.03.28

Moved: Cr T Elliott Seconded: Cr F Standfast

1. That the Report be received

CARRIED 6-0

24.03.29

Moved: Cr T Elliott Seconded: Cr F Standfast

2. That all Councillors be entitled to attend each of the Advisory Committees as they see warranted, over the course of the term of this Council, but that identified Councillors be allocated to the Advisory Committee as per the following table to ensure constant representation:

| Committee | Councillor 1 | Councillor 2 |
|---|--------------------|------------------|
| Rural Lands and Agriculture Advisory Committee | Cr Julie Dorries | Cr Adrian Lenton |
| Tourism and Beautification Advisory Committee | Cr Jacob Mutton | Cr Tina Elliott |
| Community Facilities Users Advisory Committee | Cr Adrian Lenton | Cr Jacob Mutton |
| Work Camp Correctional Facility Advisory Committee | Cr Frank Standfast | Cr Adrian Lenton |
| Audit, Risk, and Improvement Committee | Cr Tina Elliott | Cr Julie Dorries |

| Regional Arts Development Fund | Cr Frank Standfast | Cr Tina Elliott |
|--------------------------------|--------------------|-----------------|
| Assessment Panel | | |
| | | |

CARRIED 6-0

5.3 LOCAL DISASTER MANAGERMENT GROUP - APPOINT NEW CHAIR AND DEPUTY CHAIR

SUMMARY

Pursuant to section 34 of the *Disaster Management Act 2003* and Section 10 (1) of the *Disaster Management Regulation 2014* (The Regulation), the chairperson and deputy chairperson of a local group are the persons appointed by the relevant local government for the local group to be the chairperson and deputy chairperson. The Regulation also requires the LDMG chairperson to be a Councillor.

24.03.30

Moved: Cr A Lenton Seconded: Cr F Standfast

1. That the report be received.

CARRIED 6-0

24.03.31

Moved: Cr T Elliott Seconded: Cr J Mutton

2. That Council appoint the Winton LDMG Chairperson Cr Cathy White and the Deputy Chairperson as Cr Frank Standfast.

CARRIED 6-0

6 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

Ordinary Meeting 19 April 2024

The Meeting closed at 8:45am

The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of the Winton Shire Council held on 19 April 2024.

.....

CHAIRPERSON